Britain is made up of 5 main countries, namely England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and Ireland. Each country is made up of multiple regions, known as Counties. In days gone by, counties were often known as ‘Shires’ and many counties still have ‘shire’ as part of their name. London is slightly different, in that it is a large city, or a conurbation, which is made up of multiple ‘boroughs’.

To view a complete travel guide on any county or borough within Britain, please click on it in the list below. Not all of these are complete as yet, so please bear with us as the content is updated.


Bath and North East Somerset Bedfordshire Berkshire Bristol
Buckinghamshire Cambridgeshire Cheshire County Durham
Cornwall Cumbria Derbyshire Devon
Dorset East Riding of Yorkshire East Sussex Essex
Gloucestershire Greater Manchester Hampshire Hertfordshire
Herefordshire Isle Of Wight Kent Lancashire
Leicestershire Lincolnshire Merseyside Norfolk
Northamptonshire Northumberland North Somerset North Yorkshire
Nottinghamshire Oxfordshire Rutland Shropshire
Somerset South Gloucestershire South Yorkshire Staffordshire
Suffolk Surrey West Midlands Tyne and Wear
Warwickshire West Sussex West Yorkshire Wiltshire
London Boroughs
Barking and Dagenham Barnet Bexley Brent
Bromley Camden City of London City of Westminster
Croydon Ealing Enfield Greenwich
Hackney Hammersmith and Fulham Haringey Harrow
Havering Hillingdon Hounslow Islington
Kensington and Chelsea Kingston upon Thames Lambeth Lewisham
Merton Newham Redbridge Richmond upon Thames
Southwark Sutton Tower Hamlets Waltham Forest
Republic of Ireland
Carlow Cavan Clare Cork
County Meath Donegal Dublin Galway
Kerry Kildare Kilkenny Laois
Leitrim Limerick Longford Louth
Mayo Monaghan Offaly Roscommon
Sligo Tipperary Waterford Westmeath
Wexford Wicklow
Aberdeen City Aberdeenshire Angus Argyll and Bute
Clackmannanshire Dumfries And Galloway Dundee East Ayrshire
East Dunbartonshire East Renfrewshire East Lothian Edinburgh city
Falkirk Fife Glasgow city Highlands
Midlothian Moray North Ayrshire North Lanarkshire
Orkney Perth and Kinross Renfrewshire Scottish Borders
Shetland South Ayrshire South Lanarkshire Stirling
West Dunbartonshire Western Isles West Lothian
Anglesey Blaenau Gwent Bridgend Caerphilly
Cardiff Carmarthenshire Ceredigion Conwy
Denbighshire Flintshire Gwynedd Merthyr Tydfil
Monmouthshire Neath Port Talbot Newport Pembrokeshire
Powys Rhondda Cynon Taff Swansea Torfaen
Vale of Glamorgan Wrexham
Northern Ireland
County Antrim County Armagh County Derry County Down
County Fermanagh County Tyrone
The Channel Islands
Alderney Guernsey Herm Jersey
The Isle of Man
The Isle of Man

The way the regions of Britain are broken down into counties mirrors the way they are also categorised in many other countries. However, there are many further words related to areas within any given country. We have states, districts, provinces, as well as regions, lands kingdoms, heartlands, territories and Emirates.